The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The statement indicated that a local television station receiving complains and losing their advertising contracts due to reducing time on weather and local news and increasing time to national news. Therefore, the business manager decided to restore the time for weather and local news in order to bring back the viewers and advertising revenues. It is reasonable to think restoring the original time devoted into local news will attract more local views, however, this is all based on assumptions, without solid evidence, it is unsafe to conclude that restoring the previous program will bring back the business.

First of all, the station did receive some complains about concerns with coverage of weather and local news, but it is never mentioned the previous complains. What if there are more complains before about not having enough coverage about national news, then the new program actually meets more people's needs comparing with the old program. Thus, switching back to the old program may lead to losing more viewers. Therefore, a questionnaire regards what kind of programs local residents prefer should be distributed. Based on the result from the questionnaire, the television station can make the decision whether restore the old program or not.

Moreover, the number of viewers for a certain television program varies due to lots of reasons. For, example, during the Olympic games, the sports channel will certainly attract more viewers than normal news channel. It is not guranteed that there will be exciting news everyday. Maybe the losing of viwers is just because there isn't enough appealing material on the television that attract the views during a certain period of time. Therefore, the television should keep the program running for a longer period of time before they make the judgement.

Second, the businees manager attributed the losing of advertising contact to the switching of program, but it is never mentioned in the statment that the this assumption is confirmed with the local businesses. What if the reason for local businesses to cancel the their contracts is because that they find a cheaper way to advertising their products, or maybe the local businesses running into trouble that they can't afford to advertise on the television. There are lots of reasons that can make local business give up advertising on television. It's not wise to attribute the losing of contract due to the switching of program.

In conclusion, before validating the assumptions mentioned above, it is not wise for the business manager of the television to switch back to the old program.