The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The statement claims that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition. Indeed, the trend shows that, as a result of globalization in economy, technology and many other fields, more and more roles require people to be capable of working with others and cooperate as a group, especially when working for a multi-national company, where a sense of cooperation is extremely important since the employee even required to work with people from another country, who has a complete different background. Thus, cooperation will be a better way to prepare young people for leadership.

First, a great leader needs to be able to cooperate with others. For example, the leaders of those giant technology companies such as Microsoft and Amazon. The reason that those CEOs can achieve such a huge success is not only because they have talent in their field, but also they are great leaders and great cooperators. They know how to unite the resources around them and cooperate with people with different talents and make the great things happen. When Bill Gates first met Paul Allen, the co-founder of Microsoft, the first thing he thought is how can I make him work with me instead of how can I compete with him. He knew that this is the person that if they work together, they can make a difference. It is the cooperating skills that let Bill Gates reach such position.

Second, Leadership is about leading, not competing. No one can be perfect and everyone has its own strength and shortcoming. A sense of cooperation will help people to realize how to fully explore everyone's potential and put them into use. That's what being a leader is about.

Like cooperation will help young people prepare for leadership, competition will serve the same purpose in some particular case. There are certain kind of leadership that their natural is about competition, like running for mayor of a city or running for governor of a state. The prerequisite for this kind of leadership requires a person to be good at competition, only the survivors of the competition will have the chance to leader the people. Therefore, in this case, competition would be the best way to help young people prepare for the leadership.

In general, both cooperation and competition will help young people prepare for leadership. Depending on the field they are going to enter in the future and the kind of leadership they are looking for, the way to prepare for the leadership varies as well.