A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

The statement claims that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. Indeed, there are lots of basic curriculums that should be required for all students, but except those required fundemental curriculums, schools should not forbid their students from exploring interests in different fields. Instead of requiring all students taking the same course, each school should provides special courses based on students' interests.

First, it is reasonable that there are some general courses that should be mandatory for all students. For example, class like mathematics, foundmental physics, and basic communication and sociology, those are the classes that will help a student survive in this society. Even they do not expected to be an expert in thoses areas, they are still required to perceive those fundamental skills in order to make a living. Moreover, by enforcing the mandatory curriculum, students in rural area will not be left behind, they will also have the opportunity to learn the same knowledge that students in cosmopolitan learned. Thus, national wide mandatory courses can reduce the education resource gap due to the region.

However, besides the fundamental courses that is required by all students, there is no point for all students take the same curriculum. Each students has its own strength, and high-school should be a place where they can try all kinds of things and figure out where their interest lies and what they want to do in their future. For example, there are lots of celerity in the science field find their interests when they are in high school, and then they determined to pursue further study in that particular field when they enter the college. Steve jobs, the pioneer of the smart phone device, the founder of tech giant Apple, is particularly interested in computer science. However, there isn't a lot of resource about this area back at his time. Therefore, he spends a lot of time working in his parents garage on building electronic devices during his highschool. Such experience motivated him to pursue further study in this area and eventually made him the most famous person in this field. Therefore, value each student's personal interests is also important.

Last but not least, it's impossible to realize the recommendation to require all national wide schools to teach the same curriculum. First, the distribution of education resource is not even across the country. Second, there are some course can only be offered to certain group of students. For example, it makes perfect sense to offer a bible study class in a catholic school, but it will sound absurd to offer such a course in a public school filled with non-religious students.

Therefore, according to the reasons above, there will be both advantages and disadvantages of adopting such a recommendation. The curriculum taught in each school should have the same fundamental class, but still vary from school to school.