To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Indeed, major city is a great component of the society, but it is not the only important part. Society has a wide definition, it is constituted of lots of aspects such as cities, people, government, etc. The most important characteristic of a society is not about the city, or at least, is not about the architecture and tall building within the city. It’s about the people, the relationships between the people that form the society.

The first question needs to be answered is what’s the most important characteristic of the society is. The answer to this question can vary from person to person. To economist, the most important characteristic of a society is its economy system, the way how does the society profit from people’s trading. In this case, it doesn’t make any sense to study for rural areas considering most of trading centers located in major city. For example, if someone interests in America economy, it would make so much sense to study the city New York comparing with other cities. However, to an anthropologist, the most import characteristic of the society is about the people live in it, it’s culture and the diversity. In this case, only study the major cities won’t be able to cover all the cases. In order to obtain an object conclusion, one has no choice but to go through all areas in a country in order to have a comprehensive view of its culture and diversity.

The second question need to be taken into consideration is the amount of information available. The major cities of the country usually have a really long history. For example, in US, cities like New York, Chicago and Boston, they all have a long history. This means there will be a tremendous amount of information and materials available regarding to the change of those cities. Those historical material come from all kinds of sociologists and everyone of them may have different opinions towards the society lived in. With so many opinions exist, it would be hard for anyone who tries to extract the most important characteristic of the society. Let go in some sense, the characteristic of a society is not immutable, it keeps changing as a result of development, which in turn even add more difficulty for those who try to understand it’s characteristics.

Last but not least, study the historical data is not the way to understand what’s govern the contemporary society. In order to understand a current society better, one should focus more the trend issues, and based on those to interpret the most important characteristic of a society.

Therefore, there are so many ways to grasp the characteristic of a society and there are so many aspects of the characteristic. Depending on one’s focus, the most important characteristic changes as well. So, it’s not a safe to say that study major cities is the best way to understand a society’s most important characteristic.