"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

As per the argument, a report prepared by the marketing department indicates that the number of people who watched Super Screen produced movies had declined in the previous year. However the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about such movies had increased. Still the content of these reviews is not reaching some threshold. The report then identifies the problem as not the quality of movie, but public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Then finally in the end solution to the problem, as to spend lots of money in advertisements, is presented.

The solution to the problem seems quite logical subjected to the conditions that it fulfills certain criteria, e.g. a thorough survey and analysis is initially done so as to ascertain the real cause of the problem. If the cause of the problem, as mentioned in the report, is genuine, then it really needs to go for advertising the fact that Super Screen produces quality movies which will be cherished by the people. Otherwise people, on their own, won’t be knowing about such movies. So, spending lots of money in advertising such movies, is really a good step by the respective department. And this will eventually help them generate back the revenue from the people for whom they had spent in the form of advertisements.

The second face of the coin is that it is nowhere mentioned in the report that the cause of the problem, as mentioned in the report, is backed by some logistic surveys. We are not sure whether the cause mentioned is a genuine cause or not. There can be other reasons as well which led to decreasing number of viewers of the movies mentioned, e.g. people really do not like such movies. There area of interest is something else. Or the cost, they have to pay, for watching the movies is too big for them that they switch to some other affordable content.

After thorough analysis and conduction of proper surveys, can the department find the root cause of the problem faced by them and then only after that will they come up with some fruitful solution.