An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument states that the people in the impoverished nation of Tagus suffer from the deficiency of vitamin A. In response to it, an international development organization has engineered a new breed of millet which is high in vitamin A. Being costly, farmers will be provided subsidies for farming this new variety. The argument also states that millet being a staple food in Tangus, people will adopt the new variety readily.

The step taken by the international development organization in eradicating the deficiency of vitamin A among the people of Tangus is a quite good initiative. Since they have engineered the food item which already happens to be the staple food of the residents of Tangus, so it is likely that people will adopt it without any hesitation. Also, despite being costly, farmers will farm this new variety as they will be provided subsidies.

However certain flaws seems to be there in the argument. The advantages mentioned in it, regarding the use of new variety of millet, are merely based on assumptions. There is no solid proof for them. Let us analyse them one by one.

Firstly it mentions that the cost of the new variety of seeds is more and farmers will be provided subsidies for farming it. there is no surety that farmers will continue to get subsidies from the government. In this case farmers will eventually discontinue using the new variety.

Secondly it is being stated that millet is already a staple food in Tangus, we have no confirmation that people will start consuming this new variety owing to the fact that it might be having a different taste, not palatable to the people of Tangus.

Lastly, there is no experimental survey conducted anywhere which could validate the fact that there is no harm in consuming the newly engineered breed of millet.