We can learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Learning has been an innate trait found in us, humans, right from our existence. We always try to grab the opportunity, which comes our way, for learning new things, be it related to our existence, the universe, biological diversity around us, politics etc. Coming to the titular topic which reads that if we can learn more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own, I incline towards the fact that it needs a thorough analysis to come to a conclusion and the same follows in the following paragraphs.

First of all let us see why do our own views align with the views of certain group of people (say x) and contradict with those of other group (say y). The answer to this basic question is that right from our childhood, we have been fed with the ideas and the type of knowledge which is in alignment with that of the group x. Actually we were being made to imbibe the knowledge in a way that we found no contradiction with it. We hardly asked any question against the already set belief system or already held knowledge. Now what happens here is that we learn the things the way we were supposed to by our elders of that field. We hardly did any rigorous mental exercise to find out whether the knowledge we are seeking is worth it. This is one set of learning.

Another type of learning is; we get some knowledge, then we come along such individuals which partially or completely contradict with us. Now what happens here is that the circumstances compel us to do some pretty rigorous research which eventually leads to getting more closer to the truth and also, more importantly, during the process we might have come along numerous such situations where we defied various already held myths and also apart from going closer to what we were looking for, we might have discovered many other things unintentionally.

So, in conclusion, I would like to state that it is more important to have people which contradict our knowledge, around us so that both of us strive to get closer to the actual reality.