The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Among various qualities a human being is bestowed with, the ability to make good decisions is of primal importance. Those individuals who lack this ability are the ones who are often looked down upon. So, everyone is found to have the tendency of making appropriate decisions at every stage of their lives.

Now what makes one a good decision maker or a poor decision maker? Well there are several factors which govern this trait of humans. First of all let it be cleared that a particular individual is not to be labeled as a good or poor decision maker. There are several occasions where s/he is able to make logical decisions and it could be other way round at some other occasions. Same is the case with other human beings. So, let us talk about a particular decision. What makes it good, bolstered with logic, or poor, without any logical ground? The following paragraphs follow this discussion.

Well, as I mentioned earlier that several factors affect the decision making ability of an individual at a particular stage of their life. Among them are the previous knowledge about the subject (on which the decision is to be made), emotional attachment (of the person who has to make a decision) with the subject, expertise on the subject etc. Emotional attachment with the subject happens to be one of the dominating factors. Now, are the decisions based on emotions justifiable with logic or are they merely poor decisions, is a topic which requires thorough analysis.

There are several occasions where the decisions based on emotion prove to be right. For example,one might consider the case of a person having favourable career prospects in a foreign country, but at his homeland, he has his ailing parents who don't have anyone except their son to look after. If this individual is emotionally connected with his parents he will of course skip the opportunity to go foreign for a job with decent salary. This decision, although disadvantageous monetarily, is rewarding for the person’s emotionality for he will have the privilege of enjoying the warm company of his parents.

But on several occasions decisions based on emotion prove to be wrong.