An ancient, traditional remedy for insomnia—the scent of lavender flowers—has now been proved effective. In a recent study, 30 volunteers with chronic insomnia slept each night for three weeks on lavender-scented pillows in a controlled room where their sleep was monitored electronically. During the first week, volunteers continued to take their usual sleeping medication. They slept soundly but wakened feeling tired. At the beginning of the second week, the volunteers discontinued their sleeping medication. During that week, they slept less soundly than the previous week and felt even more tired. During the third week, the volunteers slept longer and more soundly than in the previous two weeks. Therefore, the study proves that lavender cures insomnia within a short period of time.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguer asserts that on the basis of the experiment, the scent of lavender flowers has now been proved effective. While it is maybe true at first glance, but there are a myriad of evidence still in great need of solidifying the argument. The reasons are as follows.

For one thing, the arguer stands on the point that when the volunteers stopped taking their usual sleeping medication, the former medication will have no effect on them. Whereas, the arguer provide no sufficient evidence to bolster this view. It is entirely possible that the former medication will have a continuous influence on volunteers. If there is a continuous effect from former medication, it is obvious that this experiment could not eliminate the alternative that it is likely that longer sleep is a contribution from former medication instead of lavender scent. For example, if I take the medicine to cure my headache, it will take weeks to get rid of some side effects such as diarrhea after I stopped taking this medicine. The argument is undoubtedly defective unless the arguer provide more applicable evidence to lend significant support to his or her view.

For another, the arguer's conclusion is based on the experiment in a recent study, which includes 30 volunteers and only one controlled room. However, the arguer provides neither scientific evidence nor applicable example to convince us this experiment is tenable. It is entirely possible that this study is conducted by some undergraduate students who is callow and unfamiliar with the right experiment methods. It is obvious that this experiment have only 30 volunteers which is insufficient for getting rid of randomness and coincidence. Moreover, this recent study lacks the blank control group. Lacking credible evidence, the arguer could buttress the argument.

What's more, even if the arguer could presents sufficient evidence to prove that the former medication have no later effect and the experiment is effective to draw a final conclusion, the arguer simply assume that with a two weeks result from a recent study will cure the insomnia forever. It is reasonable to doubt the argument. It is as possible that the lavender-scented pillows only works for a short few weeks since the scent will dissipate quickly. For example, many flower's scent will dissipate in the air quickly so we might not smell too much cheerful scent in the spring. Without ruling out this alternative, the argument is obviously untenable.

All in all, the argument is not based on sufficient evidence and sound reasoning both of which is essential to convince us the soundness of his or her view. In order to draw a convincing conclusion, the arguer should reason more soundly and presents more evidence.