Arctic deer live on islands in Canada’s arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow their age old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

This letter recommends that the decline in deer populations is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow their age old migration patterns across the frozen sea. To support this recommendation the author points out that deer in Canada’s arctic region move over island to island for the search of the food during whole year ,because their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough ,at least some of the year. This argument is problematic in several respects.

First, the author assumes that the habitat is limited to area but the specific time period is not mention. If the habitat in older times was not available but then it is available then the migration by the deer from island to island is not necessary. They can stay at the place where their habitat is available. So the rate of the migration can decrease.

Secondly, the author assumes that according to the report from local hunters the deer populations are declining. Here to prove this numeric data should be given between the last few years survey and present survey so that the data can be compared easily. And the local hunters had killed them for their profit giving reason that the there is decline in population due to global warming.

Finally, it is assume that the due to global warming the sea ice has melt so there is decline deer population is the result of the deer’s being unable to follow migration. Here it cannot be directly assume that due to global warming the ice is melting. It can some other natural calamities like volcano ,etc which melts the ice or it can be some research being carried out by the researchers which contains high heat dissipation in the environment near the island. Due to this all activities the ice melts and converts into sea which decreases the migration rate. And it can be assumed that due to some disease which had spread among the deer’s so that due to this many of them had died. So for assuming any results specific reason with evidence should be provided.

Thus in conclusion the author’s recommendation is not well supported. To strengthen it author must provide a survey that can be done by wildlife sanctuary that is done in specific time period. So that the data can be easily compared and the result can be carried out that what is the main reason behind the decrease in the rate of migration.