Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author proposes that the reason for the decrease in the population of deer in the canada’s arctic region is due the global warming, that melted away the frozen sea route which the deers used to migrate to other islands where they can feed on the vegetation for their survival. The argument looks dubious for the author has overlooked few vital points that are necessary to make it logically convincing.

Firstly, is the global warming the sole reason behind the decrease in the population of the arctic deer? The writing mentions that there are local hunters present in the deer’s habitat. It could be the case that excessive hunting of deers by them has decreased the deer’s population and listing global warming would just cover up their activities. Deer hunting isn’t a new sport, people have been doing it for hundreds of years. They have been hunted for years for meat and their skin, which could fetch heavy prices in the market. If it is indeed true that deers are being recklessly hunted in the region, the changed trends in global warming could just be a mere coincidence, and will positively weaken the author’s argument.

Secondly, is there enough of food for the residing deer population? It is mentioned that deers migrate to the other islands in search of food for not every island is warm enough to support the vegetation they feed on. If the islands are not having enough of food, which for instance, could be a result of the increased human activity on the islands, can adversely affect the new generation of the arctic deer. If there is a dearth of vegetation on the islands, the deer population will undoubtedly decrease for the food isn't enough to sustain the population. The author should have consulted with the local authorities and other sources as the hunters, in no manner, are the sources of credible information.

To conclude, had the author presented more germane facts to substantiate his claims, his argument could’ve been much more persuasive.