The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author proposes that the town council of balmer island must limit the number of rental mopeds available during the summer in order to reduce the number of accidents involving passengers and moped. But to ascertain whether these arguments will likely have the proposed result, some questions need to be answered.

Firstly, are the conditions of the neighbouring island of seaville that the author has mentioned comparable to balmer’s? For if the conditions on both the islands are not similar, the proposed fact, in no manner, helps in strengthening the argument . It could be the case that mopeds do not serve as a primary form of transportation in seaville as they do in balmer, which will directly imply that decreasing the number of moped rentals was not the only reason that resulted in lower number of accidents on seaville island the previous year .Also, does the seaville island gets the same hike in the population during the summer like the balmer? What exactly was the reason behind limiting the number of moped rentals on seaville? . Unfortunately, this is something which author did not mention in his letter. Moreover, the author also didn’t explain how the last year’s accident data from the Seville island helps him to reach to his proposed argument.

Secondly, since mopeds are the primary form of transport on balmer, limiting the number of rental mopeds in the peak summer season when the demand for them is relatively higher, might force people to rent other types of vehicles like cars, or other two or four wheelers. Consequently, it will exacerbate the traffic conditions on the island, for it is mentioned that the summer season is accompanied by an increase in the population to 100,000, therefore, it is likely that the roads will be flooded with cars and other rentals by the tourists during the summer, making pedestrians more susceptible to accidents. Hence, it is important to answer if the balmer’s town council has done something like this in the past, which positively helped them to mitigate the problem rather than worsening it? For if it is being done for the first time, the situation may get worse before it ever improves.

To conclude, the author’s argument could’ve been more viable if he had given a broader perspective towards the problem. Had the author presented more relevant pieces of facts to bolster his claims, his argument could’ve been much more persuasive.