Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author states that some anthropologists recommend that in order to obtain accurate information on tertian child-rearing practices, an interview-centered method should be employed in the future research of the subject. But, the recommendation is highly dubious as some points have been overlooked which are vital to make it look logically convincing.

Firstly, how relevant are the answers of children in ascertaining the nature of child rearing practices which are prevalent on the island of Tertia? It is stated that during the interviews, children of Tertia spent more time talking about their parents. But, that doesn’t invalidate the observation based results of Dr. field. Children, in general are much more likely to talk about their parents then about strangers. Dr. Karp must have conducted the interview of the adults residing the island as well, for they can give better insight about the child rearing practices that are prevalent on their island, rather than the children who, in no manner, are the sources of credible information .Also, neither of the two scientists considered looking at any previous research that was done on the same topic, they just overlooked any previous studies and jumped to conclusions, which raises the questions on the accuracy of their findings.

Secondly, how accurate is the interview based method? The observation based study of Dr. Field positively suggested that children are reared by the entire village, which is having a much broader scope than the interview based method as the former involved every native of the island rather than just children in the latter method. This makes the interview based method limited in scope and much more prone to errors for it has much smaller sample size, which rather makes it unfit to be used for any further research.

To conclude, the researchers should’ve spent more time to increase the scope and accuracy of the method they employed. Had they done a more meticulous research around this topic, the recommendation could have been much more persuasive.