Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author informs us that Nature’s Way is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville, which has all the favourable conditions that will make the franchise a huge success. The argument looks dubious for the author has skipped few vital points that are required to make it look more logically convincing.

Firstly, the author is operating under the assumption that Nature’s way is the only business in the town of Plainsville. As it is mentioned that the fitness classes like weight training and aerobics are always full, it could be the case that people already have access to the products that Nature’s way will be selling after they open up their new franchise. Consequently, this will hamper the success of the franchise for people would rather buy the products from already established businesses in the town rather than a new competitor which doesn’t have as much trust and is not known to the local residents. If it were the case, the newly opened franchise can rather struggle to survive in the town. The new franchise might fail to sell the number of products required to breakeven the cost of its operation, or even fail to make decent profits in its initial period of operation, which can make it a liability for the company rather than a profitable asset. This, if true, will positively undermine the author’s argument.

Secondly, the author mentions that the sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all time high. The author presumes that people who buy exercise clothes and shoes would also be interested in buying the health food for their exercise. It isn’t necessarily true that people who buy running shoes and clothing for exercise would also be buying the health supplement. They will buy shoes and clothes as they are essential for the exercise, but it largely depends on the people whether they want to buy a heath supplement or not. This also applies to the new generation of kids who would be attending the fitness-for-life programs. Therefore, the new franchise might not be as profitable and successful as the author presumes it to be.

To conclude, the author has not states some compelling and germane facts to substantiate his claim. Had he done so, his argument could’ve been much more persuasive.