Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this argument the author concludes that the decline in the population of the artic deer is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their migration patterns across the frozen sea. To bolster the conclusion , the author cities the coincidence with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt. The argument relies on series of unsubstantiated assumptions and lacks solid evidence to support it.

Firstly, Author is assuming that the global warming have adverse effect on the population of arctic deer, as increasing temperature will result in the melting of the migration path. It may be true that the paths will melt but doesn't means that it will decrease the population of the deer. Morever, the plants which these deer eat, need little warmer environment to sustain, so it is a possibility that more plants will grow as the environment will be warmer because of global warming and population will increase and there will be less need of migration.

Secondly, the decline in population is may be due to some other unknown factors. There may be a natural disaster like earthquake in which a large portion of the population may have been vanished in a single blow. There is also a possibility that population of the species who eats arctic deer have been increased are eating more arctic deers, hence decreasing the population

Finally, local hunters are not a very good source of information. I don't think they may have considered some reliable parameters to make such claim. It is a possiblity that there might be would have felt that there is a decline in the population of deer.

In conclusion, to convince me that the decline in population of the arctic dear is due to the melting of the migration paths the author needs some strong evidence. Without the support of evidence the decline of population could n't be justified with mere melting of the migration paths.