Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

In this argument the author concludes that the decline in the population of the artic deer is the outcome of the deer's being unable to follow their migration patterns across the frozen sea. To bolster the argument, the author is not accomplished to provide any robust evidence.

Firstly, it couldn't be concluded that the melting migration paths, is the sole reason behind the decay in population of the deers. There could be tons of other reasons which are still oblivious. Moreover, the warmer climate could be benificial for the deers. It will augment the growth of the plants on which they feed, the population would have increased as a matter of fact and there would be less need to migrate.

Secondly, the decline in population is may be due to some other unknown factors. There may have been a natural disaster like earthquake in which a large portion of the population vanished in a single blow. There is also a possibility, that population of the species, which eats arctic deer have increased in this period of time, and are eating more arctic deers, hence decreasing the population.

Finally, the evidence which author does provide is the statement of local hunters which is a very poor source of information. I don't think they would have considered any reliable parameters to make such claim, other than their intuition. However, they might be having any personal motivation behind such claim. It is not difficult to process, who will get the benifit if there is an increase in the population of the artic dear.

In conclusion, to convince me that the decline in population of the arctic dear is due to the melting of the migration paths the author needs some strong evidence. There is a need to prove a strong corelation between the population and the melting path scenario. Without the support of evidence the decline of population couldn't be justified with only the statement of local hunters.