Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the passage states that in order to incrase the number of people who view films produced by Super Screen, the company has to invest more budget on advertising; but the conclusion is reached after a series of unbased assumptions that may cause the logic flow to have some fallacies.

The first problem is that the marketing department made a report in which it is stated that the number of views made by the movies produced by the company has decreased, but we dont' know what is the difference, so it is possible that the number of people is almost the same, thus making ridiculous the concern for such a decrease. If the advertising director wants to make sure that the managers will accept his request, he has to add some details in which he shows the actual change.

The director also says that the critics gave better reviews to company's movies in the past year, so he thinks that consumers don't read these reviews. But it's also possible that even if readers read them they are not convinced in watching the film, maybe because during the last period all critics decided to make more positive reviews to avoid the fans' anger, so the quality of a film is not always granted. The author must then make sure that the reviews of other companies' works haven't changed in the last years, and he also has to prove that the public isn't able to read many Super Screen's reviews.

Similarly, the author states that people are unaware of the presence of such good movies, and this is the main cause for the recent loss in audience. But again, there are other possible reasons for people to seem not to watch Super Screen's movies, and one could be the fact that people are able to watch them on internet sites, without spending money, and some of these streaming sites may not be legal, in which case the company would not know that their works are actually viewed by more people that the report states. It is necessary that the company investigates on the possible existence of illegal sites, before it can claim that people don't know about the presence of many products of good quality and don't watch them.

The last flaw can be seen in the conclusion. The author states that if a larger portion of the company's budget is invested in advertising, then the problem will be solved. But if more funds are used to tout the agency, then fewer remain to make valuable products, possibly leading to a further decrease in interest from consumers. The director must assure that an increase in the share allocated to advertising will not cause pejorative effects on the movies.

In conclusion, the author may be right, but before the recommendation can be taken in consideration, he has to give further information: we need to know how much the number of people who watched the company's films has decreased last year, if the rate of positive reviews have increased only for Super Screen, or if it has positively changed for other companies, too, he must make sure that there aren't illegal sites that distribute the company's works without it knowing, and finally tell us if the quality of the movies will be lowered after advertising will get more funds.