In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that the prunty county can reduce the number of accidents by following the similar project done by butler county. To bolster his recommendation, the author provides evidence like no changes in the number of accidents by lowering speed limit to 55 to 45 miles per hour, and fewer reported accidents in butler county after undertaking road improvement project. However, there are several flaws in the argument that, if not substantiated, dramatically undermines the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the autor assumes that the number of accidents is a sole function of high speed, and reducing the speed limit to 55 to 45 miles per hour can reduce the number of accidents. It is possible that the accidents are due to multiple factors like damaged road conditions, smaller lanes, haphazard driving, drunk driving etc. The author should should provide evidence to substantiate his argument that the accidents are due to higher speed.

Secondly, the author erroneously assumes that butler county and prunty county are similar and comparable. It is possible that the prunty county is a mountaineous county and butler county is plain land. It is also possible that butler county had enough budget to carry out road improvement project, whereas, it may not be a similar case in prunty county. If this is the case, then argument does not hold water. The author should provide evidences that the both county have similar landscapes, climatic conditions and both the county are comparable in order to bolster his argument.

Thirdly, the author assumes 25 percent fewer reported accidents is significant. It is possible that the previous number of accidents were 4 and now it is 3. In this case, 25 percent may not be a significant value. So, the author should substantiate his argument providing exact statistics of the number of accidents in the past and the current number of accidents. If he can provide these evidences then his argument is strengthened.

In conclusion, the argument is not persuasive as it sounds. The author should provide the evidences mentioned above to strengthen his argument and prove his points valid.