In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

In the argument stated above the Prunty County for improving the highway safety and for reducing the number of accidents, lowered its speed limit from 55 mph to 45 mph on all county highways. But their effort has failed and they found that the number of accidents has not decreased. They evaluated this on the basis of reports by highway pastoral that many drivers exceed their speed limit. It can be possible that the drivers in the Prunty County didn’t know about the rules and thus they drive with their usual speed. So the condition might arise that some people knew and some didn’t and thus numbers of accidents increased.

The Prunty County should have put some notice or board across the road so that the fellow drivers could know about the speeding limit. The argument further states that Prunty County should undertake road improvement project as Butler County did 5 years ago to decrease the number of accidents. This statement is totally obscure. Just by seeing the result of Butler County implementing the same in the Prunty County is fallacious. It can be possible that Butler County’s road condition was not up to the mark five years ago and that’s why they undertook road improvement project. But in the argument, it is nowhere stated that the Prunty County’s road condition is not good.

In the argument, it is purported that the Butler County had increased lane width, resurface rough highways and improved visibility at dangerous intersections. But to apply same in Prunty County is of no use. It might be possible that the Prunty County road width is quite well and also there is no such problem in the road so that they should undertake the road improvement project. It can be possible that the drivers in the Prunty County are not well trained and do not follow the rules that are initiated. They constantly break the rule and thus end up having an accident. To stop this some major steps such as driving camps should be arranged so that people can get aware of the rules.

The Butler County after implementing the road improvement project experienced less number of accidents and also their speed limit is 55mph. The Prunty County assumes that this is happening due to the road improvement but the reason can be different. It can be possible that drivers in Butler County became more cautious in comparison to earlier. The Butler County would have arranged some camps which guided the drivers to drive safely and in the limit. It can be possible that the weather condition in Butler County differs from that of Prunty County and that is why the drivers are comfortable traveling at 55kmp without accidents whereas in Prunty County might have some weather problems and thus due to that accidents take place.

In conclusion, the author has stated the argument with no proper proofs and also the Prunty County’s accident reports can differ at day and night. Proper statistics are not provided in the argument. It can be possible that at night there can be so much fog that the drivers can hardly see anything and thus accidents occur. So just by implementing what the Butler County implemented in their County to decrease the number of accidents is vile. So Prunty County should undertake some additional steps such as arranging camps, more zebra crossing on the road and also street lights on the highways to avoid the accidents.