In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims about the current highway safety problems that Prunty country is facing and the failed step that were took to improve this situation. As an step, lowering speed limit was considered to be effective in Prunty country but it did not work out as expected. The author suggests that Prunty country should follow similar road improvement project as Butler country to solve this major problem. There are some major evidences missing in this argument which makes it flawed.

The argument avers that five years old plan of Butler country will work for today's Prunty country. Is this based on any evidence? Have there any research done with both this countries to match the compatibility? These two countries can be completely opposite of each other. Perhaps Butler country is a well-developed country whereas Prunty is not as developed as Butler. Perhaps Butler country had invested a high amount of their national budget for conditioning their roads which Prunty country cannot afford. Also, is is applicable for today's Prunty country? The steps took to improve situations of Butler country was five years old, there might be even better road plans now. So, there are a lot more evidences required to validate the argument.

Secondly, the argument says that Prunty country has lowered their speed limit but many drivers still exceeding the speed limits. That clearly shows that the speed limiting step is not working properly as the rule is not obeyed by the drivers of Prunty country. Perhaps, making their traffic control system can decrease the number of accidents in Prunty country, perhaps following Butler country's expensive road improvement project is not needed at all to make the roads safe in Prunty country. Making sure that every driver follows the rule established in Prunty county could probably make the number of accidents lower as well as save a lot of money of the country.

Thirdly, the argument says that Butler country's last year's accident record are 25 percent lower that five years old records. Perhaps just the year before the last year's records were actually higher that five years older one's. Probably, last year there were fewer vehicles on the roads. The argument also says that only major roads follow the 55 miles speed limit; perhaps there are fewer major roads in Butler country than Prunty country. All these evidences are needed to know the real situations of Butler country and Prunty country. If the evidences are not good enough, the argument is undermined.

The argument, as it stands now, is flawed. There are a lot of evidences needed to strengthen the argument. If any one of these evidences are not clear, the whole argument becomes absurd.