Teacher's salaries should be based on their academic performances of their students.
Teaching is considered to be one of the most noble professions. It is indeed true that teachers are the future nation
builders. What the world has achieved from nuclear power to brief history of time- it would not be excess to say that
teachers deserve most of the credit. But yet not all teachers can produce prolific students, or in other words, not all
students are geniuses. The recommendation avers that teachers should be paid according to their students academic results. I mostly disagree with this recommendation for three specific reasons.
Not all students are bright. Not all of them can be straight-A students. It is natural that an academic class will have
both extraordinary student and dull student. It is indeed a teacher's duty to teach them right, but it is the duty of the
students to study the materials regularly, do the hard work. Let us assume that a classroom has both straight-A students and students
who are not that good with bringing good grades. Even the best teacher cannot do more than to help both types of students
by delivering good lectures or help them to understand. If a student does not do well in academics it is not necessarily a
teacher's fault. So, a teacher's payment cannot depend only on academic results.
Another reason is that, only academic results cannot determine a student's future. Suppose a student is a very good footballer
or he has an amazing talent of showing magics, if he wants to develop his career based on his excellence and interest sector he will
surely succeed in future. And it would be very normal for him to focus less on studies if he is determined about his career
in some other field. If that student does bad in exams, is it the teacher's fault? A teacher is the one who brings the best from
a student. If the teacher finds the student's best quality, then he surely is successful in his field.
In many cases, even good students cannot sit for exams during the finals, for being sick or for personal issues; or probably
seats for exam but cannot do well. Certainly, this is not the flaw of a teacher, and reducting salaries for such reasons is
absurd. Moreover, is salaries are reducted for such simple reasons, it wouldnt be a wonder that people will be less interested
to come to such a noble profession like teaching. The future generation would pay the cost if this happens.
It is normal to claim that teachers are there for students to excel in exams and that is what they are paid for. But in my view,
a teacher is paid not only for academic results, but for teaching students various virtues like honesty, truthfulness, punctuality, modesty etc.
Thus, discouraging teachers will less payment just for academic results of students is not a very good recommendation.
Our future is much more dependent on a good teacher. Teachers should help students to bring out the best in them, only that
should be the only focus for the measurement of a teacher, not only academics.