Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument avers that Super Screen Movies Production Company is facing a trouble attracting more people to their movies. It also says that although fewer people are attending the movie, the are getting positive reviews about specific Super Sceen movies. The recommendation and argument are based on many unwarranted assumptions and there are many information missing. To make this argument reasonable, four questions would need to be answered.

Firstly, how may people are attending the movies? Are only Super Screen movie lovers joining the movie? If only Super Screen movie lovers are joining the movie, they are most likely to give a positive review as they can be biased to them. Perhaps, not other people are going to the movie, perhaps only the movie's production members are attending the movies and giving good reviews. Probably the number of movie loving people are decreasing. There are many cases which are not stated in the claim.

Secondly, how many reviewers are giving the review? The argument says that percentage of positive review has increased. Perhaps, last year a thousand people saw the movie and 200 people gave positive review; and this year, only 100 attended the movie and 50 reviewers gave it a positive review. The first assumption makes 20% positive review while the second one makes 50% positive review. Percentage of positive review increased surely, but actual number of positive reviews decreased drastically. If this assumption is true, this would undermine the argument surely.

Thirdly, how many specific Super Screen Movie Production movies got the positive review? Is the number high? Are the positive reviews higher than any other movies? Perhaps, last year Super Screen Movies released a good number of movies and only few of them got positive response. Perhaps, other movies from different production house are getting better reviews. Many questions are unanswered here.

Forthly, has there any study conducted, or any survey conducted with the movie viewers? Is it true that the positive reviews are not reaching to other viewers? It is not clear in the argument. Perhaps, positive reviews are reaching to all the movie watchers but they are not interested to watch Super Screen Movies. Answer to this question is needed to evaluate this argument.

The argument, as it stands now, is flawed. It is based on many unstated assumptions or does not have much information to prove itself reasonable. If any of the assumptions stated in this essay are true, it can weaken the argument.