Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

In this modern era of innovation and revolution, youths are the main directors of future. It is the young people on whom the world is relying on. Today's bright youths can make the future even glorious. But it comes to a big question while choosing career; what they should listen to: heart or mind? The claim avers that youths should follow goals that are 'worthy' and not choose anything from their dreams. As a reason of the claim, it says that people's dreams are selfish inherently. I disagree to this statement for three specific reasons.

Firstly, what does 'worthy' goals stand for? Is it only 'economical worth' or there should be mental peace inherent? 'Worth' is a relative thing in today's world. Some find themselves happy being in a small house and living life within budget income whereas, some are avarice and want more to earn. If a person is happy with choosing and chasing his own dream then they should follow their dreams. Dreams make a boy a man, in search of his dream, he grows up and tackles the world. If achieving worthy goals are the only measures of success, then mental state of youths can be harmed.

Secondly, dreams make people big and following dream can become extremely worthy if worth is measured by economical means. Mark Zuckerberg, founder of the most popular social networking site 'Facebook'; is a Harvard dropout, and also one of the youngest billionaires of the world. Continuation of academic study could have made his future bright, but not what he has become by following his own dreams. Same goes for Bill Gates, founder of 'Microsoft'. So letting young people follow their dreams can make remarkable changes in their lives as well as in the society.

Thirdly, not everyone's dream is selfish, and not everyone can be successful leaving their own interest and following some other paths. The world do not need only scientists, engineers and doctors. It needs musicians, athletes, actors-actresses as well. Some may say that if a youth's dream be being a smuggler, or a 'serial-killer' or anything harmful for humankind, then my reasons are not valid. But in that case, that young person has not been corrected, nobody showed him the correct path to think, to choose career. It's the duty of the society to teach children at their young age that what is wrong and what is right; what moral principles should he follow.

The big one dreams, the bigger he/she can be. Showing youth the right path and the correct moral principles and leaving them to choose their dream goal can make this world a happy place to live in as well as can make youths to be themselves.