"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument concludes that in-order to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians Balmer Island must limit the number of moped rentals from 50 to 25 per day based. This is based on a similar decision taken by the Seaville islands that resulted in lowering the number of moped accidents by 50 percent. While the argument at first seems reasonable, further analysis is required to establish its validity. The questions regarding involvement of mopeds in the accident, validity of drawing comparison between two islands must be answered before the decision of the town council of Balmer Island can be accepted.

To start with, the first assumption that the town council makes is that all the accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians are due to the fault of moped drivers. What if the accidents are due to pedestrians or lack of proper infrastructure for the moped drivers? Could it be because the people are not aware of road safety rules? Also, it is an assumption that with an increase in the population, moped rentals also increase. There is no evidence provided that supports this assumption. If that is the case, then reducing number of mopeds would not have any impact on the number of accidents.

Secondly, the decision to consider reduction in the number of moped rentals is being made looking at the results achieved in the Seaville Islands. But, can the two Islands be compared to each other? Does the Seaville island have similar population and transport infrastructure? There is no supporting evidence for this assumption. It could be that the island of Seaville has a better awareness amongst its people regarding road safety and better infrastructure available for the riders.

To sum, the decision to reduce the number of mopeds in-order to reduce the number of accidents fails to substantiate its claim based on the evidence provided. As it fails to lend support to the argument. Without further additional evidence the scenario between the two islands cannot be compared and argument that mopeds only are responsible for the accidents cannot be supported.