Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers cannot distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine. Thus, to avoid the expense of purchasing butter and to increase profitability, the Happy Pancake House should extend this cost-saving change to its restaurants in the southeast and northeast as well.

The Margarine has taken place of butter in Happy Pancake House in a region of US because of its less expense compared to latter one. The Author concludes that to increase the profit, Butter should be replaced by Margarine throughout all the restaurants of Happy Pancake House. He believes the fact of the price difference and the assumption of less number of complaints raised by the change. Though, the underlying issue have merit; because of a lack of relevant evidence, unaddressed assumptions and vague terminology, the author's argument is unsubstantiated and deeply flawed.

The first undermine fact is that, the number of complaints received from the customers are less. It requires more lucid way to indicate the interest of the customers in the Margarine than butter. It can be a possibility that customers are not having any platform to register their feedbacks about the new change. The 2 percent customers may have escalated it to higher management of restaurant due to bad taste or odour in food. The time frame is also a bar, that needs to taken into account when getting the suggestion regarding the change. It can be assumed that the 2 percent figure is of first day of change. There could be less number of people came to the restaurant compared to rush days. The number of customers or the information regarding the feedback platform could have strengthened the the author's argument.

The second weak point is with the region choice. This new experiment has been tested in southwestern US. There is no clue about the number of restaurants in this region and the customer's population for the House. The statistics of both of these facts are missing which breaks another assumption made by author here. The Pancake house is about to launch the successful change in southeast and northeast region, but it can be assumed that these regions has more popularity of the house than the former one. To recall the first argument here, if it comes true and the change is not really huge success in the Southwestern US, it will affect the homeground of the Happy Pancake house that will definitely be harmful for the business.

The final point is the cost of both the items, Butter & Margarine. The cost difference is not limpid here that provides the profitability in the business. One can assume that the butter is costlier in a particular region but it is cheaper in other regions. The cost of transportation is also has an effusive role here. There is ambiguity in the statement given in the argument that weakens the author's point here.

The conclusion of the argument is not correct because of the lack of evidence provided. To bolster the argument, author should have provided stats of the customer numbers, the cost difference, the information of type of customers as well as the feedbacks received from them. To keep the prestige of the House, the change needs more of information and surveys that can help to prevent the hamper of the quality and taste of the restaurants.