Claitown University needs both affordable housing for its students and a way to fund the building of such housing. The best solution to this problem is to commission a famous architect known for experimental and futuristic buildings. It is common knowledge that tourists are willing to pay money to tour some of the architect’s buildings, so it can be expected that tourists will want to visit this new building. The income from the fees charged to tourists will soon cover the building costs. Furthermore, such a building will attract new students as well as donations from alumni. And even though such a building will be much larger than our current need for student housing, part of the building can be used as office space.

The argument states that is Claitwon university has a problem with having an affordable housing as well as funding this house, as a solution to this problem, the university seeks to hire a well-known architect to add such a asthetic touch to this building. As a result of such solution, the the income will increase from tourists visiting to the building and consequently will cover the costs that will be charged. This argument is rife of several holes, first the author should provide some answers to the following questions to help the reader understands the whole picture for the current situation.

First, the argument says that the university’s plan to fund the the building is hiring a famous architect. Although hiring such a good arichitect has a great benefit in creating a beautiful building, the author needs to answer the question, how much the arichtect will be payed to build such an attractive building. As the argument mentioned that the university will hire a famous architect that could cost them much and the purpose to provide the students an affordable building will not the case. The author should provide us how much will pay the sudents in the case of the building costs more? If the above scenario is valid that means the university’s purpose to provide the students with an affordable housing will not happen and they may be compelled to pay more to cover such cost spent on the building.

Secondly, there is another unwarranted assumption the argument supposed, that is the income which will come from the tourists visiting to the building will be enough to cover the building costs. Before making such assumption, the author should provide information about how many tourists come to visits such kind of building and how much the tickets will be? Upon the previous example of hiring such famous arichtect will be costy this also perhaps causes costy tickets. If the university had to increase the the tickets’ cost this will consequently cause decreasing in tourists numbers come to visit the buliding and will not cover the building cost. Even if the tourists will come to visit although the tickets are costy, the author doesn’t mention how the tourists will visit the building, is there any place inside the building they should come in so they have to pay to visit? Otherwise, there is no reason to pay tickets to visit, simply, they can look at the building from out side as the cases in all the historic buildings on Rome. Thus, all these questiones should be answered to make the university’s plan persausive enough to be done.

Thirdly, the author mentioned at the end of the argument that because of the building will be large there will be a place to allot for office. This mentioend point is not related to the scope of the problem and will add nothing to solve it. The author should clear what is the purpose for adding office? Is it has any benefits in increasing the housing income or any reflection on making the housing affordable. Even if this office will provides such benefits, the author firstly should be sure if will be any empty space remains to allot to the office or not. Maybe because of the building is large the university would have to occupy all the building to the students for increasing the income and thus no more space for that office. Thus, if the above is correct that means the concluion drawn in the original agrument is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument is remarkably flawed as there are several questions and incomplete information the author should provide them to make his argument more persuasive.