Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hand on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statures. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these question would help to evaluate the prediction.

The art collectors prediction about the Kalinese art depends on some arguments, questions about which should first be answered properly if we want to evaluate the credibility of the prediction that the life-size scuptures will decrease in value while the miniatures will increase in value.

The first question that needs to be answered is how hard it is to make a full body mold of a human figure. The collectors assumes that the sculptures that are made with sculpting tools and techniques are more difficult to make than making a life-size mold of a human figure. This assumption leads to the idea that as sculptures are more difficult to make, it begets more value. But to evaluate this assumption, the point that needs our focus is whether the making of molds are as easy as have been assumed by the collectors. The collectors have ceded that the Kalinese artist were able to depict human bodies with realistic precision. To do that, the work of the artist has to be perfect. Such perfection in work can’t be easy to pull off. So, the prediction of the collectors that miniature scupltures value will increase after the discovery rest on the question of the difficulties associated with making the perfect mold.

Another question that needs answer to justify the prediction of the collectors is whether the assumption that molds could be used only for life-size sculptures is true. If miniature sculptures can be created using molds, the construction process of both miniatures and life-size sculptures would be same. This also supports the fact that few Kalinese sculpting tools were found, as molds for life-size artifact has been found and miniatures also can be made using molds. So, there is not much need of scupting tools. As miniature sculptures need miniature molds, they may have been destroyed before the archaelogists found them. This fact can call the prediction made by the collectors into question.

A prediction becomes a fact when the questions about the prediction and the arguments beneath that prediction are answered credibly and solidly. For the prediction of the collectors about the Kalinese artifacts to be true, the question presented in this essay needs to be answered properly.