The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in with you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to dcide whether the recommendation and the argument of which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented by the advertising director is appealing. But, for determining the actual credit of his argument, some questions need answering.

The first question that needs to be answered to judge the argument is how many movies have actually gained positive reviews. The advertising director has presented that specific Super Screen movies has gained more positive reviews, not all movies. If that is the case, then although more advertising is done, people will only go to watch those movies. Other movies of Super Screen Production Company will not gain popularity.

Another question is did people stop going to other movies as well? It may be the case that people might prefer not watching movies in cinema halls. The conditions of the cinema halls might be disastrous, the facilities might be dismal. The cinema halls may be located at such places where people doesn't feel comfortable to go. In that case, even if more advertising is done in favor of Super Screen movies, people will prefer to stay at home rather than going to cinema halls.

In his memo, the advertising director only asked for more budget allocation for reaching the public. But he didn't mention how would he use it. Though it is his job as advertising director to spend the budget providently, he may misunderstand the way to reach the audience. It may be one case that he might prefer to reach audience by positive reviews of the movies through newspapers or other written media, but the target audience might be interested in television or other graphic media. In that case, the budget he gets will go in vain without adding much to his case because the reviews will not reach its target audience.

Again the advertising director has stated that the number of people attanding the movies was less only in the past year. The years before that, the number of Super Screen movie goer people was high. The advertising director didn't give a reasonable explanation for that matter. It may only point to his failing to find the actual cause of people not going to Super Screen movies.

The question about the positive reviews about the movies still remains. Who were the positive reviewers? The movie critics? The moviegoer normal public? The positive review from a critic would gain more traction in the publicity of the Super Screen movies. Also, was there a connection between the person who gave positive review with Super Screen Movie Production Company? They could be connected and it may influence their review. The question about the integrity of the reviewers also needs to be answered.

The memo of the advertising director raise questions about the viability of his recommendation. Only after the proper answer of each of the questions, it can be judged if the argument of the advertising director is reasonable.