The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Young people are the future of a society. It is their leadership which determine the future prosperity or destruction of a society. Society is responsible for their upbringing and leadership building. So, it is the task of the society to enable them to lead the society in the future. The best way to perform it is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation over competition.

The usefulness of cooperation trumps competition in most cases. Cooperation leads the people to contribute more to the society. A single person can't complete a task faster than more person working in a cooperative way. Simple tasks can be completed more swiftly by competition as only one or small number of persons can handle that. But complex tasks need cooperation among people to complete them. In computer firms, there are many people working cooperatively to a single goal in mind: the progress of the company. If only one person established a company and competed with other companies for excellence, he couldn't have progressed far. Also, cooperation is a necessity in big projects. Such enormous projects can't be handled by a single or group of persons competing among themselves. But is everyone comes forward with a cooperative mindset, the work would get done more promptly and easily.

Another way cooperation helps in preaparing the youths in leading the society in future is it instills human virtues in them. When people work together, they can become empathetic to other's reasons, suffereings, happiness. Thus, cooperation can build a bridge among people, where competition brings antipathy, hate and contempt.

There are also a healthy aspect to the sense of cooperation. To be a better leader, our young people has be have healthy mind and body. When they are taught cooperation, they can be more relaxed, thus being more healthy. If they are always in competition with others, it brings a huge mental pressure on their minds, which can lead to chronic meantal disorder in future. Therefore, cooperation can ensure the sound mental health of our young generation.

Though there are so many usefulness of cooperation, one can argue that only with competition, a person gets out of his laid back approach, and bring the best out of him. Though it is true in a sense, the way of competition can take a high toll on a people. Competition to some extent is needed, but cooperation should be the main focus for the young people of our society.

If the society can build the character of the young people with a sense of cooperation rather than competition, the society will flourish in the future when today's youth takes leadership.