SuperCorp recently moved its headquarters to Corporateville. The recent surge in the number of homeowners in Corporateville proves that Corporateville is a superior place to live than Middlesburg, the home of SuperCorp's original headquarters. Moreover, Middlesburg is a predominately urban area and according to an employee survey, SuperCorp has determined that its workers prefer to live in an area that is not urban. Finally, Corporateville has lower taxes than Middlesburg, making it not only a safer place to work but also a cheaper one. Therefore, Supercorp clearly made the best decision.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The decision of relocation of SuperCorp's headquarters to Corporateville depends on some assumptions throughout the decision making process. The validity of these assumptions are somewhat unwarranted.

The first assumption the paragraph states is that the recent surges of homeowners in Corporateville means that Corporateville is a superior place to live. But, sudden surges in homeowners can't be tantamount to being the superior place to live. It may happen that, recently the house prices in Corporateville has dropped. Many persons may have noticed this and thus caused the sudden surge of homeowners. But, price drops of houses doesn't mean that the other cost of livelihood are also cheaper here. The price of the groceries can be high, thus negating the advantage one gets from living in this area.

Another assumption the paragraph takes is as the employees in SuperCorp prefers living in areas that are not urban, they would be interested in living in Corporateville. But, the paragraph gives no indication of the questions asked in that survey. The questions used in the survey might be very biased and swayed the employee to the side of prefering places not urban for living.

Third assumption that was made in this paragraph is that as the taxes are lower in Corporateville, it is cheaper to live there. But, the relative cost of other commodities are not mentioned here. It may be the case that the roads in Corporateville are not developed enough, thus might cause more cost in transportation. Higher costs in other sectors can negate the effect of lowering the taxes.

The paragraph also assumes that Corporateville is a safer place to work as it has lower taxes. But, it doesn't show a relation between the safety of a place and the taxes there. It might have no relation at all.

Regarding the assumptions taken in the paragraphs, we can reach to the conclusion that, the assumptions are inconclusive, thus calling the argument into question.