Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The best test of an argument is in its ability to convince its whole audience in favor of the argument, not just the audience with opposing view.

Discussions on the arguments on various topics are very important for the development of the knowledge of humankind. The argument is regarded as valid only when it is proved unanimously. The main point in this validity is, the argument have to be valid to all persons, like someone with a opposite viewpoint, or someone who has not yet formed an opinion about the argument. The just arguments are meaningful in a way that is necessary for development of humankind. These kinds of arguments are self-sufficient in nature. They don’t need an opposing view to denote their moment. The voting rights for women, or the tradition of slavery- have been passed as arguments first. When these arguments originated, there were opposing arguments present regarding these issues. Also, there were many persons who were not dogmatic to any views. To become valid, all these arguments had to be accepted by both schools of thought- the opposing views, and the unbiased views.

On the other hand, though the majority of arguments have its competition, some arguments might not have an opposing viewpoint. Humankind is reagarded as the best life form in the universe, or speaking truth is the virtue of a pious man- these arguments doesn’t have an opposing view. But, the absence of the opposite viewpoint doesn’t render these arguments valueless.

In the history, we can see the value of many arguments is cardinal, regardless of the presence of their opposing views. For example, the argument for movement for eradication of recism is self-sufficient. It is for the equality of all persons. It doesn’t need an opposing viewpoint to justify it’s importance.

There are some fields where defending the argument against some opposing arguments to prove its validity. These kinds of argument is prevalent in scientific fields. The arguments for how the universe was created had many views. Only after the discoverty of Hubble, the right argument has been established, and it has been established by defending against opposing views.

The best way to test an argument is testing its validity in the rightness of it. Defence against opposing viewpoint is only a part of its test