Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Human is a social animal. Every person needs to live in a society to thrive and grow to his full potential. When many people live in a society, some laws are needed to be issed to keep the society prospering and ordered. But, it isn’t to say that all laws works toward the prosperity of the society. The just laws are necessary for the improvement of society. But the laws which are unjust can do more harm to the society than good. As we humans are living in the society, it is our responsibility to guide to society to prosperity and and improve the lives of all the human beings around us. To perform this duty, the people in a society is responsible for obeying the just laws and disobey and resist unjust laws.

Just laws are those laws which contributes to the prosperity of the society. If a law ensures the improvements of life of the people in a society, we can call it a just law. There are laws against crimes like murders, thefts etc. Using these laws, the criminal committing these crimes are punished. In this way, these laws inhibits our digression into chaos. The law allowing women to vote has greatly influenced the Democracy. Again, the laws regarding racism, sexism etc. are very much needed to eradicate these problems from the society.

On the other hand, the unjust laws are those laws which are issued to oppress others. These laws are detrimental to the development of a nation and society. These kind of laws can be seen in a dictatorial regime, where the dictator issue laws which serves only to his purpose even if it harms the overall welfare of the nation. Also, some traditional laws can also be coutned as unjust. Once, there were slavery issued by laws in many parts of the world. To this day, in middle east, women are living subhuman life for the prevalent laws against them. As a responsible citizen of the society, it is our duty to resist against thse unjust laws.

There might be an argument that, though the disenfranchisement, sexism, slavery etc. unjust laws in the past was commensurette to the then society. But, it is no proof that the people in the then society was all living to their full potential. The point that there was once a wrong doesn’t signify that, there is no option to right that wrong. So, these unjust laws must be resisted and eradicated. And it can be done only if the responsible citizens of the society raise their voiced against these laws.

Humans are the best creation of all the beings in the world. To uphold that honor of humankind, every individual should come forward to follow the just laws and resist and vanquish the unjust laws.