Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of this analytical piece concludes that the life-size sculptures will decrease in values while the miniatures increase in value. Several key factors which would help in better evaluating the argument are missing. However, on careful scrutiny, it can be evaluated that the evidence presented by the auhtor provides little credible support to the conclusion presented by the author. Hence, the contention of the auhtor is incomplete and unsubstantiate.

Firstly, it is assumed that as the molds are found on the archeological site and the sculpting tools are not found it is believed that the techiniques were not used and the molds were only used to make the sculptures. It might be possible that some other things could have been used but are washed away with the time and thus, are not found. It is all possible that the molds found their are due to some other reason. Also, it is possible that they might used molds for some sculptures and some other technique for some other one. Hence, there is need of proper evidence about what tools and techniques were used by them.

Secondly, it is stated in the contention that discovery of molds explain why life-size and miniature-size sculptures are different in size. This statement raises some querries like how they were different in styles? Were they different in the styles of making? Were they different in styles of tool used? Were the size and styles of representation interrelated? These are the questions that the author must answer for the better understanding of the argument and for the proper evaluation.

Thirdly, the conclusion given in the argument is not tenable. As, the passage does not provide any information that leads to the conclusion. It is not supported by the passage and is made out of the blue. There must be proper explanation given by the author to support his claim. Also, the statement given in the passage that the tools are found of the miniature-size sculpture. But, there is no evidence that suggests that the tools are only of miniature-size scluptures. They can also be of the life-size scluptures.

To sum up, the argument of the author is unpersuasive. To bolster it further, author must provide clear and concrete evidence about the sculptures that were made and the methods used for their making. The detailed analysis of these must be required in oreder to better assess the argument. Finally more knowledge about the topic must be required for the better evaluation of the contention.