"To combat the recently reported dramatic rise in cheating among college and university students, these institutions should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced an old-fashioned system in which students were closely monitored by teachers and an average of thirty cases of cheating per year were reported. The honor code has proven far more successful: in the first year it was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey conducted by the Groveton honor council, a majority of students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without."

The cheating in academics is really increasing these days but the method suggested in the prompt is not viable to ensure that the exams in the colleges and schools are conducted in a cheating free atmosphere. The method suggested of the Honour code have a lot of pit holes and can fail in many situations. These evidences need to studied cleary to understand that what are the promblems with the new way suggested.

First of all, as the code states that it's the duty of student to vow to not cheat himself and to report it to the administration if he/she found anyone doing so. But in this theory, it is possible that any student who feel envy of any other student cam also able to report a false report just for his malignity. It might be also possible that the student reporting the case of cheating against someone else just do it for the sake of enjoyment. This kind of reports cannot be trustworthy, as professional exam instructor can be. We can trust a lliable exam instructor for his report but not a report which can be just a case of someone's eniviousness or enjoyment against someone else.

Furthermore, it is also possible for instance that in a particular class a tacit agreement maybe made for not reporting anyone's report and everyone can cheat. A class is generally filled with children of similar age group and they also have lot of bonding with each other. It maybe possible that all the students in a particular class nodded for aggrement to let everyone in the class to cheat and not to report any case to the administration. In this situation also we see that that honour code doesn't worked at all.

At last, it is also possible that in a particular class most of the testtakers are friend and have bona fide in each other. In class like this, not having the traditional exam instrructor can lead a major cheating scenario among the students. As the most of them are friends it might be possible that no report is filed at all.

Considering all the pit falls with the honour code theory I would like to conclude that this theory is not certainly better than the traditional method of exam instructor. We can rigidly agree with a reliable exam instructor but we can't agree with some kind of honour code theory prompted. It can disastrous for some student and just a way of enjoyment for others.