Commuter use of the new subway train is exceeding the transit company’s projections. However, commuter use of the shuttle buses that transport people to the subway stations is below the projected volume. If the transit company expects commuters to ride the shuttle buses to the subway rather than drive there, it must either reduce the shuttle bus fares or increase the price of parking at the subway stations.

The arguments claims that if a transit company expects commuters to ride the shuttle buses to reach subway stations rather than drive there, it will either reduce of buses fare or increase the price of parking at subway stations. To support the argument, author says that new subway train uses is increasing and commuter use of shuttle buses to station is below projected volume. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated. Hence, the conclusion of argument relies on several assumptions for which there is no clear evidence. The argument is weak, unconvincing and has several flaws.

The arguments readily assumes that train commuters are only customers of shuttles buses. If commuters rides the shuttle bus then fares will reduce. This statement is a stretch and not substantiated in any way. For example, it could be possible that buses are already operating at full capacity. If it were the case, then the fares would not be reduced as there is no places for any commuter in the bus. The argument could have been much clearer if the arguments provide evidences of current capacity of buses.

The argument claims that when people drive to subway stations, it will increase the price of parking there. There is no evidence provided by the argument to support this statement. Price of parking at a place depends on several factors such location, traffic of customer, and management of parking. No details was given about any such factors.

Thirdly, the arguments is providing correlation and causal relationship. If any event happens before another events, it does not mean the former is the cause of latter. Evidence and supporting statements are required to established such relationship.

Without any data about location of parking, how use of shuttle buses reduce of the fares of shuttle buses, how commuters ride to shuttle buses would increase the price of parking at the subway stations, argument would remain be flawed.

In order to assess the merits of a certain situation / decision, it is essential to have full knowledge of all contributing factors. In this particular case we requirs locations, proper reasoning, etc. Without these informations, the argument remains unsubstantiated and open to debate.