"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advertising director claims that agreater sgare of Super Screen's budget should be allocated for advertising. To support his claims, he says that, a recent report of marketing department during the past year has shown that fewer people attended the Super-Screen produced movies. Futher, he says that percentage of positiive reviews for a specific movie has increased during the same year. Thus, he thought that problem is not with the quality of the movie, it is with the advertising. However, director's line of reasoning is fraught with erroneous logics and conclusions, the argument is flawed.

First of all, author has cited the data of past year. It does not convince director's claim. One year data is not representative to make any claim. It could be possible that, in the past year there were a natural disaster in the country hence his movies were not watched. It might be possible that, there was a major election last year or a strike by Cinema theaters. In these cases also, fewer people would have attended the Super-Screen produced movie. And also, what is authencity of the data provided by Marketing department. There is a possibility that his data are not representative to conclude any decision.

Futhermore, the director has provided the percentage of positive reviews of a specific movie, that has increased last year. How can a specific movie's positive reviews can decide the quality, the advertisement of all super-screen produced movies. There is nothing mentioned about the topic of that particular specific movie, and what type of movies generally Super-Screen produced. If it generally produce action movies and last year's movie was not an action, it was a short story based on history of America, and it was popular among Americans, hence received positive reviews. Last but not the least, It is also not mentioned about the what percentage of reviews are positives and what are the actual number of reviews ?

In summary, the director's claims fall shorts in many aspects. The director did start with a sound premise, but it lacked the necessay data to support and strengthen his argument. If had talked about the past year country's political environment in which his movie released, quality of his movies then director's thought process in progressing from the premise to the stated conclusion would not have been so abrupt and jarring. Additionally, the inclusion of more data about the specific movie that has received positive reviews, type of this movie, what are differences and similarities of this movie with the general Super-Screen produced movies, what are total number of data whose what percentage positive reviews received this movie, these all would have helped director to drive home his point in a far convincing manner and established his position without a shred of doubt. But, in the absence of these, the argument remains flawed.