"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The director's memo claims that the Super Screen Movie production company should allocate a greater share of its budget for advertising of its movies. To support his claims, he says that a recent report from marketing department stated that fewer people attened super screen movie last year. Percent of positive reviews about specific screen movie increased hence he claims that there is no issue with the quality, the problem lie in the advertising. However, director's line of reasoning is fraught with erroneous logic and conclusion.

Firstly, for strengthening his claims, director has given evidence of recent report from marketing departement which has shown, a fewer people attended the Super screen movie. It is not convincing reasoning, it has several loop holes. First, what is the authencity of the report, it could be actual or could not be. Secondly, the report only talked about the past year, one year data is not a representative for director claims. It might be possible that, in the past year, there was an election hence people are more focused on the election or there was an tragedy or a natural accident like eathquake, hence they did not watch movies.

Secondly, director has said that the precentage of positive reviews by reviewers about specific movie increased in the past year. In this reasoning, the doubt comes with the percentage, what percentage of what number of people, 10 percentage of 100 people or 10 percentage of 10000 people. Both have different interpretation and result. Here also, the positive reviews are about only specific movie. One specific movie's reviews do not represent that viewers thinking in all super screen movie. People might have given positive reviews about a social movie screened in the last year and super screen generally make science movie, then director claims of lack advertising is erroneous.

In summary, the argument of the director falls short in many aspect. The director did start with a sound premise, but it lacked the necessary data to support and strengthen it. If he has included more years reports in his reasoning, more number of movies for reference then director's thought process in progressing from premise to the stated conclusion would not have been so abrupt and jarring. Further the inclusion of, what number and what percentage of what number of positive reviews have been give for its movies, the type of movies, the past year country situation where his movie released would have helped director to drive his point in a far more convincing manner and would have established his position. But, in the absence of these, the argument is flawed.