Company X has just to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work10 hours per day from monday to Thursday instead of 8 hoursper day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new, Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on friday and to boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and /or unstated assumption of the argument depends on these assumptions and what implication are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarrented.

The argument claim to increase the profit of the company by improving the employee moral by decreasing the number of working days from 5 to 4 days a week with same 40 hours per week of work , which also reduces the time to come to company and go back home. The claim seems to fit proper only if efficiency of the workers is maintained on 10 hours per day work and there need to be further explanation of facts or reasoning bolstering that boosting employee moral is sure to get increase in profit.

Had better the efficiency of the worker in the increased working hour per day included in the experiment, this result would have much affected conclusion validity. If the working capacity of the staff of the company in all types of work from labor to white shirt would be the same or somehow more than the eight hours, then the argument would be more robust. The argument have missed the idea about want of the staff, whether they are loving the new policy and tending to work more a day or is the case opposite, if have tendency to work less a day due to fatigue or else the new policy certainly is not worth it.

The argument is not clarifying the reason or supporting evidence that for sure the increase in the morale of the employee is resulting in profit. In conditions, before they were disinterested in work and some survey facts proving employee being torpor in work due to more working days have much affected the company revenue resulting lower profits. If so there is profit result of new policy but what if the case is different. The profit and morale relation, thus should be more lucid.

The time for home and office mention is not supported by the findings that employee if complained to have been living far from workplace so its more like coming and going than working. If fact would be included to show distance between home and office ,and the time loss. The increased working hour would help and employee would do good work.

The argument present a leap in assumption that working hours have relation to morale with no data presented and other jumps of profit correlates morale without the supporting evidence. The argument need to provide some facts on employees efficiency, enthusiasm on work and also on the areas of living and work to make a vivid conclusion.