Company X has just switched to a 4-day workweek, mandating that employees work 10 hours per day from

Monday to Thursday instead of 8 hours per day from Monday to Friday. Although the policy is new,

Company X claims that the policy will help to increase profits by shutting down offices on Fridays and to

boost employee morale by reducing commuting time to and from work each week.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to

explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if

the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Company X has switched to a new policy in which employees need to work only for 4 days a week from Monday to Thursday but for 10 hours each day instead of 8. The company claims this policy would be helpful in many ways but there are many underlying assumptions that need to be considered.

Firstly, the company has assumed that all their employees would agree and be on board with this change. Working for 2 additional hours than regular could lead to fatigue and the employees could also get tired which might affect their performance at the workplace. Spending too much time working could have a negative impact on the health of the employees. Also, the company has assumed that giving an extra day off would boost the morale of the employees. They might not be boosted by this switch made and instead would prefer the old routine

Moreover, the company has assumed that shutting down the office on Friday would increase profits. The expected increase in profits may not be much. Only if there is a considerable increase in profits would the company benefit from this change made. Another reason for this change was to reduce the commuting time to the office. There is an assumption made here that the employees stay far away from the office and spend more time commuting. If they are actually close by, they would not mind commuting for an extra day.

So, these are the possible assumptions that arise from the changes the company has made and they need to consider these in order to evaluate whether the decision of switching to a 4-day workweek is a good move or not.