The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Board of Directors of Monarch Books have recommended to open a café in the store in order to attract more customers. They feel that the store already has a large customer base because of the wide selection of books and opening a café would increase the customers. This recommendation could be evaluated only after answering a few questions.

Firstly, would people be attracted by opening a café in a bookstore? They might not like the idea of a café in a place to read books. Also, what would be the pricing of items in the café and would they actually buy them? If the items available are expensive then they might not purchase them and the store may not get profits from the café.

Moreover, is opening the café worth replacing the children’s book section? If the sales of children’s books was more than the café then it would not be worth it. According to the recent national census, there would be a decline in the percentage of population under age ten. Even if this decline occurs, would the popularity and the sales of children’s books decrease? There is no way to predict the dip in sales.

Also, if Regal Books also opened a café in their store, would opening a café in Monarch books store give them competition? There are chances that the café might do well in Regal Book store but not in Monarch Book store.

Hence, only after we find the answers to the above questions could we evaluate the effectiveness of the recommendation given by the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.