The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that students of the Sanlee district should be assigned fewer homework as to the students of Marlee district in order to raise students' performance grades. The author relies on three unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically reduce the credibility of the recommendation.

First of all, the largest leap in the argument is the assumption that the survey done among the math and science teachers is representative of districts of Sanlee and Marlee. It is questionable that was the questionnaire was scientifically prepared ? Was the survey was not biased ? The argument does not provide answers to this questions. It is also possible that the respondent teachers did not provide accurate information about the grades and assigning homework to the students. If either of the scenario is true, the conclusion drawn by author is significantly weakened.

Secondly, the argument lacks a depth of details on the assumption that research environment of both Sanlee and Marlee districts are identical. Perhaps, highly educated people may live in the city of Marlee, such that the home education of students is very good. Thus, the students of Marlee district might have scored higher grades even upon reduced homework per week. However, the family education among the families of Sanlee district may be poor, such that students could not get hifher grades even doing heavy load of homework per week. If author does not provide this evidence, his/her argument does not hold water.

Last but not least, the the argument demands another evidence on the assumption that assigning fewer homework provide sufficient time for students to focus on a single homework that lead to them scoring higher grades. Maybe, students might not focus on homework rather may involve in playing games and other extra curricular activities, as the number of homework is reduced. It is possible that only giving homework to the students in Marlee district has not lead them to score higher grades. Instead there might be other factors that lead them to score high. If this is true, the argument is seriously weakened.

In nutshell, the argument seems like a plausible one at first glance, but, upon closer scrutiny, it may fall apart. Thus, author must provide above mentioned evidences to buttress the argument.