The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The prompt supports the idea of the author to reduce homeworks and assigning no more than twice a week in Sanlee high school in order to upshot more output from the students. Although the author has showed quite a few logical reasoning, there are many reasoning flaws in the premises of the argument; which are to be mentioned followed by sufficient clarifications.

To begin with - the auhtor believes that the school of Marlee gives less individual homeworks to the students compared to the school of Sanlee. But what if that is not the case - the school of Marlee and the school of Sanlee give same amount of homeworks to both of their students; but the Sanlee high school divides those homeworks into numerous ones, helping the students to solve step by step. If this is the case - then number of homeworks might seem large compared to that of the Marlee school, but it is actually not so. Rather it might be actually better for the students of Sanlee high school as the students will get more cautious view of their homeworks and as a result they will be able understand each and every steps of those homeworks. Whereas, in the case of Marlee high school - the students might find it difficult to solve all the homeworks in a comprehensive way. So, looking at only the number of homworks to decide the productivity might not be as cool as it seems as the author has not given any clear idea about the relative sizes of those homworks and assignements given to both of those schools.

Second to discount is that - the author believes that the homeworks of both the schools will be of same size and will need same amount of study hour. He assumed that less frequent homworks means less studying hour dedicated to individual homworks for the students of Marlee high school. But what if he is ignoring the possiblity of the homworks being too big? For instance - what if the homworks of the Marlee school is less in number than to the same of the Sanlee school but becasue of these homworks infrequency - the teachers of the Marlee school might give their students lengthier homworks compared to the same of the Sanlee schools - which might take one week to solve. On the otehr hand - the number of Sanlee school's homeworks might be greater in number but are actually small in size and becasue of their short time requirements the teachers of the Sanlee school might have decided to give more homeworks to their students to keep them busy in studying. So, if this is the case then both of these two cases will be tantamount ot each other and it will be hardly any reason behind the poor results of the students of Sanlee.

Third conjecture from the author is that - he has made a stern analogy between the school of Marlee and Sanlee with their homeworks pattern and number. But he has neglected the other factors and pointers that are much more valuable than the homeworks given to the students. Also, there is no definite evidence from the writer which states that the homeworks of Sanlee school are less uesful than that of Marlee? It might be the case that the students of Sanlee school prefers to learn thorugh homeworks whereas the students of Marlee are not the same. The falling result of the students if Sanlee might not be becasue of homeworks, rather might be the reason for their lack of concentration in studies or giving more time to other things whcih they should have given to studies to make a good result. Also, we can not ignore the familial culture and otehr aspects of the individual students. Might be the case that the students are not healthy enough to to continue their studies, or their average merits is not equivalent to the average merit of the Marlee school's students. Even all of thise factors remained same for both the schools, what is the guarantee that the school officials, teachers and other people of both the school are tantamount to the students as they play vital role in shaping the concentration of the students.

So, looking at all the points mentioned above it can clearly be said that - more evidences and proper reasoning are needed to come to a certain conclusion as the author lacks many proportionate resaons and clearity of his conjectures.