During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts believe that a significant contributing factor in many accidents is fatigue caused by sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta, we recommend shortening each of our three work shifts by one hour. If we do this, our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the number of working hours in every shift at Alta Company should be reduced by one hour in order to provide an opportunity for workers to get enough sleep and diminish the number of on-the-job accident. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

First, the author contends that during past year, Alta Manufacturing had three times more accidents than Panoply Company. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether making a comparison with Panoply Company could decrease the number of accidents. One point that should be considered is that maybe Panoply has more skilled workers and they know what to do in order to reduce the number of accidents. Or maybe works of Alta are more risky and harder than Panoply, which increases the number of accidents spontaneously. It is also important to say that there is a possibility that Panoply Manufacturing is provided with more facilities and equipment. So, in this case, the more equipment, the more safety on-the-job.

The author also points out that experts believe that paucity of sleep is the main reason for on-the-job accidents among Alta workers. Although it might seem tenable in the face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if lack of sleep is the only cause of on the job accidents. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that the author just takes sleep into consideration. Although it has a great impact on the performances of workers, it is not the only reason for accidents. In fact, lack of experience, no technological advancement and so forth, will also cause accidents. What if the number of accidents reduces just by raising technological advancement? What if a reduction of working hours put the future of marketing into trouble?

Finally, as set forth by the author decline working hours in every shift by one hour could provide workers with more sleep. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if increasing the number of hours for sleep cause fewer accidents. One point that should not go unnoticed is that workers work in three shifts as the author mentioned, so, they would have enough time to take rest when they are out of shifts. What if the number of accidents does not decrease by more sleep? What if the productivity diminishes to a great extent with reduction of working hours? Alongside that, maybe Alta workers gain enough experience during their jobs in next years and this could help to the decline of on-the-job accidents.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.