"Several factors indicate that KNOW radio can no longer succeed as a rock-and-roll music station. Consider, for example, that the number of people in our listening area over fifty years of age has increased dramatically, while our total number of listeners has declined. Also, music stores in our area report decreased sales of rock-and-roll music. Finally, continuous news stations in neighboring cities have been very successful. We predict that switching KNOW radio from rock-and-roll music to 24-hour news will allow the station to attract older listeners and make KNOW radio more profitable than ever."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that the known radio station should shift its rock and roll program to the news station in order to increase the number of listeners in the area. So, this could be profitable for the station. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is that the number of people over fifty years age increase drastically and the number of total listeners declined. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether fifty years aged people are interested in rock and roll music. One point that should be considered is that the author does not provide any information about aged people. In fact, maybe they prefer to listen to this type of music. Or maybe they do not like to follow news from a radio station, who knows? There is a possibility that even one change to the rock and roll music appeal a plethora of people than change to the news station.

The author also asserts that music stores reported a decreased sales of this music in the area. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can always ask this question if decreased sales of rock and roll music could guarantee the success of news station. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that this report could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that maybe people prefer to listen to the music broadcasting by other stations. Or maybe they prefer to download these kinds of music online. Or perhaps the store offer the expensive package of the music. Moreover, maybe the store does not provide the latest album of the rock and roll music in the area, so, people will prefer not to buy old version.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author the news station by neighboring city has been successful. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if the success of other areas could guarantee the success of different areas. One point that should not go unnoticed is that the taste of people are different and we do not know what exactly they like. In fact, maybe people in a neighboring area like to follow news from a radio station and they are not interested in rock and roll music. Perhaps a small change in the rock and roll music radio station increase the number of listeners dramatically.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are a number of questions having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.