"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

In the memo from vice president of Quiot Manufacturing, it is stated that they have experienced on-the-job accidents increased 30 percent during the past years in comparison to Panoply Industry, and the reason for this accident to happen is assumed that it is due to the work shift, which is one hour shorter then the Ouiot Manufacturing company. The experts also says that the on-the-job accidents are due to tiredness and sleep deprivation among the workers who are working at the particular company. So, to reduce the on-the-job accidents and increase the productivity, Quiot Manufacturing decide to lessen each of three work shifts by one hour, so that the employees will get ample amount of time to sleep. I would like to present some assumptions in regard of this situation.

Firstly, the reason for the on-the-job accidents can be also from the other factor apart from the tiredness and sleep deprivation, like carelessness of the employees. Perhaps, there are myriad real-world cases of accidents happening due to the minor fault or carelessness of the workers. So, instead of shorten the works shift by one hour, the Quiot Manufacturing company should take a look that why this on-the-job accident are occurring and act according, if it was due to the ignorance of the employees.

Secondly, when comparing to Panoply Industries plant, it might be possible that they also had on-the-job accidents, but they tried to suppress the issues by some unethical methods, to save their plant from defamation. So it might not be valid to conclude, that due to the shorter work shift hours at Panoply Industries plant, they have less on-the-job accidents.

Also, it might be possible that the Panoply Indsutries plant face less on-the-job accidents as compared to Quiot Manfacturing not because of less work hours but due to more careful and attentive employees at Panoply Industries plant than the employees' of Quiot Manufacturing.

There can be a one more possibility fatigue and sleep deprivation are not due to the work shift, but also due to advance machinery or less automated devices available at the Quiot Manufacturing. than at the Panoply Industries plant, this leads to workers doing more amount of work as compared to workers at Panoply Industries plant, who have to do less work due to help of automated machinery which reduces their work to great extent.

Finally, I would like to conclude, that their are many other factors apart from the fatigueness and sleep deprivation which might need to be considered for evaluation before taking decision of reducing the work shifts by one hour, because it might lead to decreased productivity instead of increasing it.