Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without.

The article considers that academic honor codes, which call for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges and universities. However, there are some question must be answered to make the argument of article more convincing.

First, the author claims that he adopts the evidence to augment his statement. However, where is the evidence from and who is the researcher or professor made this evidence. If the evidence is made by a group of college students who make this evidence for their curriculum reports, the credence of the evidence can’t get any trust; but if the evidence is constructed by a professional team which dedicate to students’ cheating, I consider that no one will have questions about this evidence.

Even if the evidence is worthy of believing, no one can promise that all of students and teachers will accept and conduct the honor code plan. Because if there are many students which do not have academic honor codes, it will give teachers unimaginable pressure. It means that maybe this teacher is not adept in inculcate his or her students and then others will make strange ideas to this teacher. Therefore, if the teacher finds that his student cheats, maybe he will not report to the school so that he can avoid getting others disparate eyes. The same concept for students, they maybe conceal the cheat to sustain their friendship. This cause that the correct cheating cases are less than the article writes.

Another question is that we need to know that how many students enroll the school. Although twenty-one cases of cheating look very rare at first glance, it will have a great difference when the base number is large or small. If the base number is approximately three thousand students, the cheating rate is under 1 percent. It is a very low ratio. But if the school is in the rural area which have only about 100 students, the cheating rate is over 20 percent. It will be a big trouble for that school that they can give their students correct education. Maybe it is the reason why so many students cheating. Therefore, we cannot absolutely claim that academic honor codes is a good way for avoiding cheating.

If all of questions can be answer by the author, the article can be more convincing.