extinction large mammals

In this argument, the author concludes that climate change and other natural factors contribute to extinction of some large mammals. To support this conclusion, the author points out that lack of human and large mammals’ relationships and failure to find bones of large mammals. It is easy to understand that author is eager to explain the extinction, but it is fraught with dubious assumptions. So, the author's argument is problematic in several aspects.

A threshold problem with the argument involves human's contact with large mammals. The writer fails to provide any evidence to support this assumption. Even though direct relationships are unfound, other indirect relationships may abound. Perhaps, human cut down forests and damage the grasslands, resulting in mammals' loss of their habitats. Or even human compete with mammals for their food, which inflict a great damage on survival of mammals. Given these possible scenarios, the facts about no relationships between human and those giant mammals proves nothing about author's idea. In order to better evaluate the recommendation, I would need more information about ancestors' lifestyle and interaction with mammals.

In addition, the author demonstrates that only fish bones are discarded but not bones of large mammals. Therefore, it is impossible for huma to hunt for those large mammals. However, the author also provides no evidence to support the assumption. Nobody can exclude the possibility that our ancestors have had special rituals to burn those large mammals' bones to ash, regarding it as way of sacrifice. On top of that, maybe some bones are not excavated now. Eventually, only some fish bones can be successfully disguised till now. To reinforce the argument, the author would have to more information about older generations' diet and their attitudes towards large mammals.

Finally, the author shed light on the opinion that climate change or some environmental factors are accountable for this extinction. Absent to the contrary, it is quite possible that large mammals had become endangered in the sense that they could not adapt to evolvement. It is likely that they are accustomed to walking on four limbs but gradually transform to rely on only two of them. Because of unsuccessful adaptation, they fail to walk quickly and are readily caught by predators. Gradually, some specific large mammals are dying out. To convince me that natural factors matter a lot, the author must provide clear evidence about relationships between the number of large mammals and climate data.

In a nutshell, the argument is logically flawed and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To better access the strength of each of the author's three unwarranted claims respectively, I would need to know the true mammal-human relationship, their diet and comprehensive climate data.