Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given prompt the students of Omega university are not being employed by recruiters and the cause of this is being questioned, the university thinks that the rise in grades and less number of students being employed is caused by the student evaulation system of the professors and wants to abolish the practice. No sturdy conclusion can be drawn, whether the students will get jibs after the abolishment of the practice for the given reasons.

The high grades being achieved by the students after implementing of the practice tells us that professors have started to give hundred percent effort in teaching which has led to this thirty percent gain in avergae marks. This makes the professors accountable as follows: A professor who was topor prior to the implimentation of this system has to change himself and be more zealous about teaching the students or he will have to answer the administration why the students rated him poorly in the review session. This is why the grades have risen and as the teachers have become more careful about their actions and teaching methods.

As, the students have got higher grades because of better teaching effectiveness of the teachers they have secured better grades and employers see this as an inflation without any testing or evidence, they should conduct proper recruitment preocess to evaluate the students' potential and not judge the book by it's cover. The employement of students of Omega University is lesser compared to Alpha University, It is being assumed that Alpha and Omega universities are alike, which may give a false representation as: Alpha University may be located in a place where a lot of companies are situated nearby and employers can easily come to recruit. Whereas, Omega may be located in a rural place with very few to none places nearby where employement is required. So, sucha comparison between the two universities is impossible to make without knowing the location and other details of the universities.

Omega Univeristy feels it should terminate the student evaluatipon process as it considers it to be the reason for the students not getting 'better' jobs. This is however, not clearly visible the reasons why the students don't secure 'better jobs' is unknown, the definition of better jobs is not fixed and depends on person to person the term in itself is vague. For instance, a job which pays more but the student is not happy doing it maybe considered better by the university but not by the student, he/she may like a job where the pay is low but they enjoy doing it. So, without any clear defintion of the term 'better jobs' such an assumption to ban the ongoing practice is not wise.

The three points stated above show what evidences are required to evaulate the arguement and explain how it weakens and strengthens the prompt. The university should carefully elaborate upon thes points and then deicide whether it should stop or conitnue with the practice of professor review by the students.