Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega professors have begun to assign higher grades in their classes, and overall student grade averages at Omega have risen by 30 percent. Potential employers, looking at this dramatic rise in grades, believe that grades at Omega are inflated and do not accurately reflect student achievement; as a result, Omega graduates have not been as successful at getting jobs as have graduates from nearby Alpha University. To enable its graduates to secure better jobs, Omega University should terminate student evaluation of professors.

The author claims that to increase the employability of graduates of Omega University, the student evaluation of professors must be terminated. The author's reasons for this is that the professors from Omega gave higher grades since the inception of the new system, thus increasing the overall student grades of which the potential employers are suspcious. The author also compares with an Alpha University whose employability is better.

Students evaluating the effectiveness of their professors is an excellent feedback mechanism if used appropriately. It provides information to the professor on how their teaching is being received by the students, and if needed, how to change the way of teaching the new concepts. The problem with this is this can be manipulated. The professor can purposefully provide higher grades to students making them happy, and students would provide a better feedback about that professor as they got higher grades. This is very beneficial to the professors as the university sees that the feedback for the said professor is very positive. To tackle this issue, the university should not judge everything based on the student feedback. If the student provides feedback and the professor's grade is final, the students can directly manipulate their grades to be high by providing a false but better feedback about the professor. There should be more mechanisms to decide the grade of a student before graduating from a university.

Potential employers not only see the present grades, but they also have access to the grades of the previous batches. If the employers are suspicious of higher grades, they usually keep a higher cut off for the students to attain the employment. Thus, the sudden fall in number of graduates being hired from Omega university cannot be solely attributed to this new feedback mechanism, but has to be analyzed by providing tests and exams regarding the employability to the students before graduating and measure their performances.

The author claiming that Alpha university having a better performance than Omega University is not sufficient evidence, as we are not sure if the Alpha university follows the mechanism of grading and student evaluation process like Omega University. Alpha University may be using the student evaluation, but have better professors who do not want to game the system, and students who are smarter than the other university. So until we understand the working of Alpha University, we cannot blindly throw away a system developed for this university claiming that the other university has higher employability. All factors must be considered.

Thus, the arguments put forth by the author for abolishing the student evaluation system is weak and insufficient. There are a lot more factors that should be considered when the employability of students are being checked, and when comparing to other universities. Hence the Omega University should work on analysing itself and its policies before making big changes.