As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Humans have gone from the use of bullock carts to landing on the moon in less than a hundred years. Science and technology are the two faces of the same coin, and this is what has enabled us to achieve such great things. Too much of any good thing is said to be harmful. Does this mean relying a lot on technology to solve our problems diminish our abilities to think for ourselves? Not at all. In fact, it enhances our progress. Technology is used in every field that can be thought of. It is applied in medicine, travel, computation, banking, teaching, learning, entertainment, and so on.

Usage of technology in banking has made the lives of consumers very easy. This has also effectively reduced the effort required to complete simple, mundane tasks which used to take up a lot of the precious time of bankers. Once a well designed system is set up appropriately, all transactions can be handled by it and bankers are required only for monitoring these, and to fix small errors if they occur. This has not hampered the knowledge or thinking of any banker. These are just tools for the bankers so that they can focus on more important things, rather than work on these mundane things which would take up a lot of their time and be exhausted.

Consider the case of using technology in medicine. With the advent of technology, diagnoses of various diseases has become very easy thanks to various scans like ultrasound or CT scan. Doctors can monitor pregnant women and ensure the healthy status of the children. One of the biggest problems that exists even now in some places is mismatch in understanding by the pharmacist, the prescription the doctor gives. By using technology instead of giving handwritten prescriptions, this is eliminated. Drug names and dosages are not misread or confused anymore. A slight change in a decimal point, say 5 mL instead of 0.5 mL of certain medicine can be lethal in a few cases. Technology here is solving the problems only of the steps taken by the doctor for a patient, whereas the diagnosis is still presented by the doctor themselves. The doctor can now focus more on diagnosing the patient and take their time to relax appropriately instead of worrying about the paperwork and other things which can be automated by technology.

There are cases where using too much technology reduces the ability of humans to think for themselves. For instance, providing school students with calculators to perform basic math impedes their quick problem solving skills. They might end up finding basic calculations which everyone should be able to do quickly, difficult. Using technology for entertainment might create an addiction among young children. These problems are solvable. They should be addressed by parents and ensure technology is provided in a limited manner so that the children can acquire basic skills and allow the development of brain till they are adults.

Thus, the benefits of using technology far outweighs the cons. There are cases where human thinking can deteriorate because of usage of technology, but these can be solved appropriately. Technology has been a stepping stone towards success. It has been one of the most important tools developed by mankind for progress, and is a powerful one.